Getting to know: Sano Hill

Apparently, there’s never a boring moment in Galway. Let’s find out with:

Sano Hill


Introduce your members, what do each of you bring to the band?

I am a singer-songwriter who writes and performs his own music. I have collaborated with a range of sessions musicians in the production of my recent single releases over the past year and my forthcoming album.

When did you last speak to your families?

Earlier today 🙂

What are your instrument makes/models of choice and why? Which effects could you not live without?

I have a Taylor 214ce Plus semi-acoustic guitar which is my main instrument – I love the tone I get from this instrument. I use a Graphic Equalizer Pedal, Compressor Micro Guitar Pedal and Digital Reverb Pedal for live performances.

What are the defining characteristics of Sano Hill?

The songs I write and perform are written in a melodic folk rock idiom that hopefully most people can connect with ( and perhaps sing along with 🙂 ) and I try to always bring emotional integrity to my vocal performance.

If you could have a DC or Marvel superhero as a member of your band, who would it be and what role would they have? Which band member would they have to fight to get the position and who would win?

Not a big fan of Marvel or DC to be honest – can any of them play a musical instrument? Or sing? That would be a pretty basic requirement – If they were a decent guitarist, drummer or bassist, I’d be happy to give them a tryout!

What are you working on at the moment?

Right now I’m finalising my album. The next single – ‘Dancer’ – is out on Feb 10 and then I’m hoping to release the album – titled ‘If Not Now, When’? – later in the Spring.

Who are your favourite bands/artists/songwriters/musicians?

I’ve been influenced by a wide range of musicians and musical styles – Van Morrison (particularly his earlier material, Astral Weeks, Moondance etc.) was a huge influence on me at one point, particularly the personal and folk/blues nature of his lyrics and expression. Other influences have included U2, Bob Dylan, Elvis Costello, David Bowie, Nick Cave, and Radiohead. But I like all kinds of music, from traditional to classical, folk, jazz, blues, and rock, and I guess all these influences have informed what I do, how I sing and the music I make.

When is your next single/album likely to be released? What is it called and where can we get it in our ears? Why should we buy it?

Next single is ‘Dancer’ due out on Feb. 10. It will be available on all streaming platforms and on my bandcamp page. It is produced by award winning Irish producer Larry Hogan with final mastering by Braddon Williams who has previously worked with Beyonce, Snoop Dogg, Mark Ronson, Il Divo, Wyclef Jean, Billy Joel, Kelly Clarkson, P Diddy, and The Script. The track deals with the challenge of artistic creation, set against the background of a memory of a dance, and the first fires of romantic encounter. It is part love song, part artistic reflection and features a full orchestral soundscape.
The album – ‘If Not Now, When?’ – will be released later in the Spring.


Find Sano Hill on:

Bandcamp

YouTube

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

TikTok

Leave a comment