Getting to know: Lee O’Nell Blues Gang

Reims, the place to go for Champagne, but are we going to get bubbly with:

Lee O’Nell Blues Gang


Introduce your members, what do each of you bring to the band?

Lionel WERNERT: First of all we are a French band coming from Reims, the capital of Champagne and where the French Kings were crowned in the Middle Ages! Well, I’m Guitarist, leader and composer of Lee O’Nell Blues Gang, and my wife Gipsy, is the female voice and the song writer too.

Gipsy BACUET: We can say, that together we are the soul of the band. Of course they are very important for us, but they know that they can decide to stop the group if they like, but Lionel and I will always be there, with or without them.

Lionel: On the bass there is Philippe DANDRIMONT, on keyboards François BARISAUX and on the drums Pierre Alain DELAUNOY. They all came from different universes, that is particularly the reason why I chose them may 2019 when I formed the band.

For example, Philippe, on bass came from Blues, he also play with Chris BERGSON when he has a tour in Europe, so I know he will make it sound as I want. François on keyboards, came more from Classical and Jazz piano. He’s so good to improvise…and Pierre Alain , on drums is typically the kind of Rock drummer I needed. They are both very attentive to my expectations and very respectful too. They never try to change the piece. I appreciate this way of thinking very much as the only composer…

When did you last speak to your families?

Lionel: This morning, I had my mother by phone. I talk to my mum everyday.

Gipsy: Well, 2 days ago. I try to phone my parents every week , to ask about their health. But l less than Lionel, I confess.

What are your instrument makes/models of choice and why? Which effects could you not live without?

Lionel: This one is very important to me: Gibson Traditional Les Paul 2008. I’ve transformed it to approach the Peter Green legendary sound, reversing the polarity of the neck pickup which gives this particular duck sound.
It’s not an effect, it’s my amps. Handmade by a fantastic craftsman who understood exactly the sound I was looking for. By the way, we are living in the same town, so each time I need him to make a change or something else, we meet, and work together. Try to take a look at SCRIBAUX AMPS!

What are the defining characteristics of Lee O’Nell Blues Gang?

Gipsy: Someone here in France said about us « Lee O’Nell Blues Gang, the group that has it all figured out when it comes to putting Blues in Rock and vice-versa » . I find it interesting…

Lionel: Yes that sum our universes. I came from Rock and Blues, and gipsy add a jazzy touch to some of the songs in her way of singing. She can be sweet or powerful, sassy or strength. It’s easy to work with her, because she let me bring her where I want, and her voice do the rest. I like to mix Vintage and modernity, so I can say that we are a group which plays some Contemporary Blues.

If you could have a DC or Marvel superhero as a member of your band, who would it be and what role would they have? Which band member would they have to fight to get the position and who would win?

Lionel: That would be Doctor Octopus beyond his super naughty side! I would not seek to replace a musician, but I would hire him to install the backline!

Gipsy: Sorry guys, I only watch at Disney and the last one I’ve watched was Cinderella!! Haha!

What are you working on at the moment?

Lionel: Well, I say it before Gipsy will do it. I’m an hyper-active person. Really, I can’t watch TV or Netflix Series without my guitar in my hands. (Sorry darling! ) And of course I’m already on the 3rd album!

Gipsy: Exactly, he said it all! But you know, when we were in the studio for the second album « This is us » released in sept 2022, Lionel was already working new songs. I had to calm his enthusiasm otherwise it would be a double album! But he still put 14 new original tracks!

Lionel: And we are still promoting the first one « Different Shades Of Love » released in sept 2020. On stage, we play most of the 2 albums, at home we do a lot of promotions thanks to webzines , blogs, radio shows etc… That is a big and hard work because we’d like to cross the French borders. And that is what we succeed in.

Gipsy: Yes, we are air played in England, USA, Canada, Belgium, Netherland… Thanks to that our music travels and we can make new fans all over the world!

Who are your favourite bands/artists/songwriters/musicians?

Lionel: Eric Clapton, Albert King, Peter Green , Eric Gales, Mick Taylor, Christone Kingfish Ingram, Joe Bonamassa… Deep Purple, Thin Lizzy, Led Zeppelin, Rainbow…

Gipsy: Sarah Vaughan, Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James, Bonnie Raitt, Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson, Stevie Wonder, Joanne Shaw Taylor, Elvis Presley (!) and Jade Macrae a fabulous Australian singer who is also backing vocalist for Joe Bonamassa, and help me with some lyrics on our latest album!

Who is your favourite author, which is their best book and why?

Lionel: It’s a French author: Barjavel who wrote « La nuit des temps » known in English as « The ice people »Gipsy: Talking about French author, I really don’t know. But a friend of mine who help me on the lyrics, Neal Black who is a guitarist, singer and composer living here in France since the 90’s advised me to read Hemingway in English… I must admit that Laura Ingalls Wilder is more easy to read for me!!!

When is your next single/album likely to be released? What is it called and where can we get it in our ears? Why should we buy it?

Lionel: Well, no idea for the title for the next album yet, but you can of course already get and listen our 2 first albums . « Different Shades Of Love » (2020) and « This is us » (2022) . They are on Spotify, Deezer, iTunes Music and you can order them on our website! We’ve already sent some in Maine, Minnesota, Canada… that’s amazing!

If you like catchy and sharp riffs , vintage sound, modern pieces, and a little of jazz, you should like our universe!


Find Lee O’Nell Blues Gang on:

YouTube
Spotify
Deezer
Facebook

Leave a comment