Getting to know: A Permanent Shadow

Barcelona, such a beautiful horizon… Sorry, wrong music! But it is the hometown of:

A Permanent Shadow


Who are A Permanent Shadow?

A Permanent Shadow is basically a solo project with a band name. My name is CP Fletcher and I am the singer, songwriter and principal motor behind this adventure and I work with a rotating cast of producers and musicians.

When did you last speak to your family?

I speak to my mom on a weekly base. I live in Barcelona and she lives in Vienna, which is where I am originally from. I haven’t seen her in 19 months, which has been tough. I hope for this Xmas we can work something out.

What are your instrument makes/models of choice and why? Which effects could you not live without?

I use the VE500 voice effects box and I love it. Especially the double tracking and phasing functions are amazing. I couldn’t imagine a show without this little magical machine anymore.

What are the defining characteristics of A Permanent Shadow?

We basically do what we want without thinking about sales or commercial viability. Lyrically, I don’t like the typical boy-meets-girl stuff. I’m more interested in other subject matters such as tsunamis or self-help gurus. Our music is quite multi-layered, so if you’re willing to give it various spins you’ll discover something new each time.

If you could have a DC or Marvel superhero as a member of your band, who would it be and what role would they have? Which band member would they have to fight to get the position and who would win?

I think I look a bit like Vision. He’s a very charismatic character and I’d like to think I have some of that, too. I would try and fight Elisabeth Olsen, (Ed Note: Blatant Upcoming Misogyny Warning!!!) although I’m afraid that rather than a fight I’d have different things in mind if I got close to her.

What are you working on at the moment?

Right now we’re working on a covers EP which will feature songs by The Cult, John Cale and John Mellencamp among others. And we’re already demoing the third album.

Who are your favourite bands/artists/songwriters/musicians?

My all-time favourite is David Bowie. What an amazing musician, songwriter, performer he was. Through Bowie I got into Lou Reed and Iggy Pop who I also love. I hope Iggy has many years in him still. Other than those three I really like John Grant, Editors and White Lies.

Who is your favourite author, which is their best book and why?

When I was younger I was into Brett Easton-Ellis. He conveyed this image of a posh but nonetheless very dysfunctional American society which I felt was quite compelling. Very upper class Rock and Roll, if it can be such a thing. It would be interesting to read his books again to see if they hold the same fascination for me now that I’m on the wrong side of forty.

When is your next single/album likely to be released? What is it called and where can we get it in our ears? Why should we buy it?

The album “Humdrum” will be out in March 2022. The single “Beautiful People” is out on November 12th and comes with a funny animated video. All our releases are available on the usual digital platforms.


Find A Permanent Shadow on:

Facebook

Instagram

Leave a comment